2013 SA Screen Awards Announced


The Media Resource Centre, South Australia’s centre for screen culture development, is delighted to announce the winners of the 2013 South Australian Screen Awards (SASAs), which took place at a gala event at The Mercury Cinema on Wednesday night.  Documentaries films featured strongly this year with The SAFC Award for Best Short Film going to Ronnie Chin and Frazer Dempsey for Who Owns The Street and The Mercury Cinema Award for Best Feature to Sandra Cook for The Ride. Daniel Philips’ drama, The Martyr was the stand-out of the night scooping an extraordinary seven of the SASA’s eighteen awards. Neale Irwin picked up Best Comedy and Best Screenplay for his mockumentary, Agora.


The quality and diversity of this year’s films made choices really difficult for this year’s judges,” said Media Resource Centre Director Gail Kovatseff. “It’s so exciting to see so many of the filmmakers the MRC has nurtured and supported now delivering world class films and telling local and international stories in ways that engage audiences worldwide.”


In Who Owns The Street, produced by Precede Pictures, Adelaide street artist Peter Drew set out on a mission to try and resolve the contradiction of being both rewarded and punished by different arms of the same government for his street art by confronting both the law makers and the law breakers.


The film was described by judge James Brown, Madman Entertainment, as “a mature and accessible work that investigates a complicate issue with humility and intelligence.


The Ride, directed and produced by Sandra Cook, follows four Aussie blokes who trade their wheelchairs for quad bikes and ride 5000km across the desolate heart of Australia to visit the crash sites where they were injured as young men.


The Martyr, produced by Anomaly Media and part funded through a Pozible crowd funding campaign, explores the moral dilemmas of a rebel guerilla torturer, who must extract information from government soldiers by any means necessary but on this day the soldier is his friend. The film was awarded Best Drama; Best Direction and The MRC Independent Vision Award (Daniel Philips); Best Cinematography (David Gregan); Best Editing (Daniel Vink); Best Production Design (Annalisa Francesca) and Best Sound Design (Andrew Graue).


Agora, a Mockumentary/Comedy about a suburban garage sale directed by Neale Irwin, which picked up awards for Best Comedy and Best Screenplay, was made as part of the Media Resource Centre’s First Shot Initiative, assisting filmmakers who haven’t previously received any production funding.


Now in its 14th year as SA’s premiere screen awards, SASA continues to reward excellence and outstanding achievements from South Australian-based filmmakers.


Established in 1974 in South Australia, the Media Resource Centre is committed to assisting emerging filmmakers at every stage of their involvement in film, video and new media and to foster the creation of unique and engaging content

Full list of 2013 SASA winners below


SASA 2013 Award Winners



SAFC Award – Best Music Video: Desert (Messrs)
Co Producers/Directors Nima Nabili rad and Dan Principe


The Cutting Room Award – Best Animation:  Sleight of Hand
Producer Richard Chataway; Director/Writer/Animator: Michael Cusack


AIDC Award – Best Documentary: Meatwork
Producer Daniel Joyce; Director Madeleine Parry


Diamonds Camera & Photographic Wholesalers Award – Best Comedy: Agora
Producer Pia West; Writer/Director: Neale Irwin


Picture Hire Award – Best Drama: The Martyr
Producers Daniel Phillips and Daniel Vink; Director/Writer: Daniel Phillips


Mercury Cinema Award – Best Feature Film: The Ride
Producer/Director  Sandra Cook


Carclew Youth Arts – MRC Young Filmmaker Award: Sara West


Independent Arts Foundation – MRC Emerging Producer Award: Eleanor Jean Perry


Digital Negative – MRC Independent Vision Award: Daniel Phillips, The Martyr


Avis Australia Award – Best Production Design: Annalisa Francesca, The Martyr


Best FX Award – Best Sound Design: Andrew Graue, The Martyr


Music SA & Pulling Strings Award – Best Composition: Sean Timms, Sleight of Hand


Canon Australia &Pro AV Solutions Award – Best Cinematography: David Gregan,The Martyr


VideoBlocks.com Award – Best Editing: Daniel Vink, The Martyr

Adelaide Cosmetic Dentistry Award and Festival Centre – Best Performance: Darcy Crouch, River Water


AWG & Storynerds Award – Best Screenplay: Neale Irwin, Agora


Kojo Award – Best Direction: Daniel Phillips, The Martyr


SAFC Award – Best Short Film: Who Owns the Street,        
Producers/Writers/Directors  Ronnie Chin and Frazer Dempsey


Leave a Reply